Home > Healthy Cooking > Chia Pets = Super Seeds?

Chia Pets = Super Seeds?

Do you remember the chia pets… Well the seeds that were all over those pets are great for your health.

10364576-chia-seeds-mila Image Source

I have been reading the many bloggers eat Chia seeds in one way or another.  Most I have read in the Vegan Overnight Oats.  So I decieded I would give them a try.  I did it blindly.  I had no idea when I bought the little seeds about 1 month ago that they were so GOOD for the body!

I founds some sources that have some information on these seeds.  I found a report from McGill University which is a PDF.  I also found an article from CTV that commented on that report.  Here are some of the benefits from those articles:

The chia seed is either white or black-coloured. Both are considered highly nutritious. Vuksan decided to focus just on the variety that provides white seeds, which has been trademarked Salba. Vuksan’s team found that the seeds contain high levels of fibre, calcium, magnesium, more antioxidants than many berries, and omega-3 essential fatty acids.

Dr. Jack Bukowski, a professor of Internal Medicine and Rheumatology at the Harvard School of Medicine is impressed with how nutritious this "super grain" appears to be.

"It has a remarkable nutrient profile. We haven’t seen anything like this before," he told CTV News.

Vuksan’s team calculates that 3.5 oz of Salba contain:

  • the same amount of omega-3’s as 28 ounces of salmon
  • as much calcium as 3 cups of milk
  • as much iron as five cups of raw spinach

I am going to look for some more great recipes that we can add these super seeds too…

Do you eat Chia Seeds?  What do you put them in?

Categories: Healthy Cooking
  1. July 26, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    I love chia seeds. I use them in overnight oats, but my favorite thing to make is chiacakes – my take on pancakes! Regular pancake batter but when you add the chia seeds it takes on a totally different texture. Delicious!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

