Home > Foods, Healthy Cooking > Patty-Pan Squishes

Patty-Pan Squishes

I went to the market last week. I had brought a list of what I was going to purchase. One item in particular was the Patty Pan Squashes, after reading about them on Angela’s blog Oh She Glows.  I have been making a conscience effort in trying new veggies. 

What is a Patty Pan you ask?

005

This is one of the delicious light flesh coloured squash’s.  Here is a LINK you can read more on the Squash.  I found that these were delightful.  I tried a slice raw so I was able to understand the flavour before it was cooked – It was similar to eating AMAZING.  I would have to say that it was light, buttery and had a nice texture.  These would be good raw in a salad or sliced thinly on a sandwich raw.  I did proceed to grill them on the George Forman Grill I own.  With a swish of Olive Oil and a sprinkle of pepper these little slices were again to die for.

I put the grilled Patty Pan slices in my salad.  I am not big on blogging my meals although I will so the ones that are food taste altering (in my opinion of course).

002

If you can I would recommend either going to the local markets and purchasing a couple or encourage your grocer to have some brought in!  I will be stuffing these delights this evening… It’s HUNNIES birthday tomorrow!!

Categories: Foods, Healthy Cooking
  1. July 31, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Oh you’ve got me missing produce, it’s a hazard of living so far north 😦 We get apples, and potatoes up here. It looks divine!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

